Blog

Our 10 Best Book Picks For Children This Christmas

We think that there is nothing better at Christmas time than grabbing a hot chocolate, popping the fireplace on, and snuggling on the couch with your children, a blanket and a brilliant book! But with so many jolly choices this advent season, how do you choose what to read next? Well don’t worry, we’ve got you covered. In this blog we will highlight our ten favourite festive reads for enchanting evenings with small humans (but don’t forget the marshmallows)!

 

Christmas is Love: For those of you that haven’t seen Emma Dodd’s charmingly sweet artwork before, be prepared for it to pull on your heart strings like your favourite John Lewis Christmas advert. This board book featuring two adorable reindeer explores what the festive season is really all about – love. With rhyming text, adorable illustrations and a heart-warming message, this is the perfect book for your little one’s first Christmas.

The Night the Reindeer Saved Christmas – Keeping on the theme of wonderful reindeers, we highly recommend Raj Kaur Khaira’s debut picture book The Night the Reindeer Saved Christmas. Did you know Santa’s reindeer are all female? Neither did we! Until we read this delightful festive feminist picture book. Who rules the world? Girls! Even in reindeer form.

The Church Mice at Christmas – The 40th anniversary edition of Graham Oakley’s classic tale The Church Mice at Christmas. Curl up with this cosy story about three mice, who after fruitless attempts to raise money for their Christmas party, decide to dress up as Father Christmas and his reindeer. Little do they know that their actions will lead to the capture of a burglar, and a reward hamper filled with all a mouse could ever dream of – CHEESE!

The Robin & The Fir Tree – This exquisite retelling of the Hans Christian Andersen story The Fir Tree by Jason Jameson is the perfect collectable for any Christmas shelf. With a cover decorated in a dark green arlyn and decadent gold foil it will look perfect next to, or under your Christmas tree as an elegant gift! This lyrical story of friendship and new life is an ultimately uplifting tale about valuing what you have. With illustrations to be poured over on every page and lyrical text, this is a perfect book to read on Christmas Eve.

Christmas Lights: Join one little girl and their father as they drive home for Christmas (queue the Chris Rea music). Lift the flaps and spin the wheels to watch the stars shoot past and the fairy lights twinkle. With gorgeous illustrations by Carolina Rabei and clever novelty elements this book will light up your day!

Santa’s Christmas Handbook: Written by Santa’s elves, with the help of Christopher Edge, this book is Santa’s go-to-guide for delivering presents to all the children in the world in one night. Discover all of Santa’s reindeer tips, present prompts, and useful tools such as Santa Nav! With novelty elements on every spread and a fun board game on the penultimate page, this fun interactive book is one that all the family can enjoy.

Winter Tales: Written by award-winning author Dawn Casey and with beautiful illustrations by Zanna Goldhawk, Winter Tales is a stunning collection of stories from cultures around the world, beautifully brought together with striking gilt artwork. From well-known tales such as The Nutcracker to new narratives like The Children and the Sun, this magical book is one that will be treasured for generations to come as an instant classic.

Fearless Fairy Tales: Written by Konnie Huq and James Kay, Fearless Fairy Tales is a hilarious collection of classic bedtime stories for young readers, all utterly updated for the 21st Century and the perfect for families to enjoy reading together this Christmas. Meet gold-obsessed Trumplestiltskin, and clever-clogs Sleeping Brainy, and laugh along as stereotypes are turned upside down with boys who aren’t afraid to cry, and girls who refuse to kiss frogs. A brilliant book to inspire a new generation of readers!

The Wind in the Willows – For those of you who watched entranced at the online unveiling of the Fenwick Christmas window! This timeless classic has been reimagined with stunning illustrations by award-winning illustrator Grahame Baker-Smith, making it the perfect Christmas gift for young and old! Rediscover the enchanting adventures of Ratty, Mole, Badger and the mischievous Mr. Toad this holiday season for some much needed fun, and introduce little ones to the magic of this classic tale today!

Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas Pop-Up Advent Calendar (Disney) – This book really is the gift that keeps on giving! Perfect for fans of Tim Burton’s iconic film, open the book and countdown to Christmas with this perfectly spooky pop-up tree. Hidden in compartments are 25 removable and displayable ornaments, from skeletal reindeer to Santa Jack Skellington! With a retelling of the story and fascinating facts about Skeleton Town and its residents, this fun novelty book will become part of your Christmas traditions for years to come!

We hope you enjoyed our selection of the best books to read this festive season, and whatever you are reading this Christmas we hope it’s a good one!

Published 21 Dec 2020